The rules of the road in New Jersey are not that dissimilar to many other parts of the country, but you’d be surprised by how many drivers aren’t up to speed with some quite important vehicle laws.
So that you don’t get caught out, here’s an overview of a handful of pieces of legislation related to road use that might not be on your radar.
Texting and driving has always been a dangerous combination, but now it is illegal in New Jersey.
All drivers are prohibited from using their cell phones for any purpose while behind the wheel, including texting or email. This means no checking social media accounts, responding to messages, or doing anything that requires you to take your focus off of the road.
Violations can result in serious fines of as much as $800, as well as points on your license, which may impact insurance premiums. You could even have your license suspended entirely for 90 days, depending on the case in question, and whether you’ve been caught texting while driving before.
Getting to grips with this and other essential New Jersey driving regulations is important whether you’re a resident or just visiting the state, so don’t take any chances.
Keeping your little ones safe while on the road is essential, and in New Jersey there are regulations in place regarding car seat safety.
Children under 8 years old must be secured in an approved child passenger restraint system when traveling by vehicle. Depending on age, as well as weight and height requirements, this could mean a forward-facing or rear-facing infant car seat, a booster seat for older children up to 4 feet 9 inches tall, or just using a lap or shoulder belt if over 8 years old.
Additionally, all passengers should wear their seat belts at all times, regardless of where they’re seated and how old they might be.
The “move over” law in New Jersey requires drivers to slow down and move their vehicle one lane away from any emergency or roadside assistance vehicles that have their lights flashing. This includes police cars, ambulances, fire trucks, and even tow trucks!
Failing to do so can result in a hefty fine as well as potential points on your license. This is an important measure not only for the protection of those responding to emergencies, but also other motorists who may be driving near them. By being aware of our surroundings and following this very simple rule, we are able to help ensure everyone’s safety while out on NJ roads.
Vehicle emissions testing is an important component of keeping the air clean in New Jersey. All motor vehicles registered in certain areas must go through a yearly inspection to make sure they are not emitting too much pollution into the environment.
This includes cars, trucks, and SUVs that are up to 25 years old, so it’s necessary for all drivers to know if their vehicle requires this type of testing or not. Basically, unless you only drive a classic car that’s exempt, biannual emissions tests are part and parcel of staying on the road without facing repercussions.
If your vehicle does need to be tested, then you can do so at any certified facility located throughout NJ. Once completed, you will receive paperwork verifying that your car has passed and is therefore allowed back onto state roads and highways until its next scheduled test date arrives.
Every motorist has a responsibility to keep vehicle- based rules and regulations in mind, whether they’re driving in NJ or heading on a road trip elsewhere. This is about safety, first and foremost, so don’t cut corners.